Search form

Director's Office

Courtney M. Kay-Decker.  Ms. Decker was appointed Director of the Iowa Department of Revenue by Governor Terry Branstad in January 2011, and continues to serve in that role under Governor Kim Reynolds.  During her tenure with the Department, Ms. Decker has focused on improving administrative rules, guidance, and processes to simplify and reduce compliance burdens for the taxpayers of Iowa.  Ms. Decker currently serves on the Board of Trustees of the Federation of Tax Administrators, and is active in various endeavors to prevent identity theft and tax refund fraud.

In addition, Ms. Decker currently serves as the State Co-Chair of the Identity Theft and Tax Refund Fraud Information Sharing Analysis Center Partnership, a collaboration among the Internal Revenue Service, state tax agencies, and industry that works to develop tools and protocols to detect and prevent identity theft tax refund fraud.  She is also a member of the Electronic Tax Administration Advisory Committee to the IRS. 

Ms. Decker received her B.A. in Economics from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois.  She holds a doctor of jurisprudence with distinction from the University of Iowa College of Law.  Prior to joining the Department, Ms. Decker was a partner at Lane & Waterman LLP in Davenport, Iowa.  She served as a member of the Iowa State Board of Tax Review from 2000-2007; and was Chair of the Board from 2003-2007. 

Questions about Iowa taxes?

Contact Taxpayer Services by email or
by calling 1-800-367-3388 (Iowa, Omaha, Rock Island, Moline)
or 515-281-3114


Contact for management issues:

Courtney M. Kay-Decker, Director