FAQ Main Menu
1. IRS: How can I contact the Internal Revenue Service?
2. IWD: How can I contact Iowa Workforce Development?
3. Starting up: What should I know before starting a new business in Iowa?
4. Wages: What is Iowa's minimum wage?
5. Inheritance Tax: How soon after filing a return can I check on fiduciary / inheritance status?
6. ePay / EFT: Who is eligible to make Iowa tax payments electronically?
7. Confidentiality: Are Department employees required to abide by any confidentiality laws?
If you have questions concerning unemployment or workers compensation, call Iowa Workforce Development at 1-800-562-4692.
To register as a construction contractor call 515-281-3606.
If you need a packet of information for starting a new business, you can contact the Iowa Economic Development Authority or visit their Website.
Also check out:
Step-by-step guide on this site and
Contacts and resources on this site
Apply for your Iowa permit online
A business may legally charge sales tax once a permit has been applied for. If you sell any taxable goods or services before your permit is issued, you must collect Iowa sales tax.
Sales tax permits are not transferable. A new permit is required whenever an existing business moves to a new county in Iowa or when there is a change of ownership status, such as one sole proprietorship to another, a sole proprietorship to partnership, or partnership to corporation.
Businesses with more than one location must have a separate sales tax permit for each location. Contact the Department about the possibility of filing a consolidated return, which allows the permit holder to file a single return to report sales made at all locations.
A permit may be denied to applicants who are currently substantially delinquent in paying any tax, interest, or penalty, or had a previous delinquent liability with the Department. An existing permit may be revoked if the permit holder is substantially delinquent in paying any tax administered by the Iowa Department of Revenue.
The Iowa minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
Certain occupations or establishments may not be covered by the minimum wage. If you have questions, contact:
Iowa Division of Labor
1000 East Grand Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50319-0209
515-281-3606 or 1-800-JOB-IOWA
Minimum wage rates under federal law may differ from those under Iowa law. Iowa employers must comply with the more stringent applicable law. Overtime is covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act. All questions should be directed to:
U.S. Department of Labor
Employment Standards Administration
Wage & Hour Division
210 Walnut Street
Des Moines, IA 50309
The status of an Inheritance clearance cannot be checked unless the return was mailed more than 60 days ago and you have not received correspondence from the Department.
The status of an Income Tax Certificate of Acquittance cannot be checked unless the return was mailed more than 45 days ago and you have not received correspondence from the Department.
Any permit holder or employer may voluntarily make electronic tax payments. However, the following are required to make electronic payments:
Retailers who remit over $5,000 a month in sales tax
Employers who remit over $10,000 a month in employee withholding tax
Corporations who remit over $20,000 a quarter in estimated tax
Motor fuel filers
Businesses with Direct Pay Permits
Yes. Please refer to this confidentiality statement for more details.