2019 Iowa Rent Reimbursement claims can be filed until December 31, 2021. 2019 Rent Claim Form
2020 Iowa Rent Reimbursement claims can be filed until December 31, 2022. 2020 Rent Claim Form
Who can file for rent reimbursement?
You can file for 2020 if you meet all of the following requirements:
- You were 65 years of age or older, or disabled and 18 or older
- Your income was less than $24,206
- You lived in Iowa and still live in Iowa now
- You paid rent in Iowa at a property that pays property tax
Does my rent qualify?
You can file if you:
- Lived in a motel for part of the year. Make sure to provide proof of the rent you paid.
- Share an apartment and both you and your roommate are on the lease. You can each file a claim.
You cannot file if you:
- Are not on the lease
- Pay utilities but not rent
- Rent to own
- Own a home
- Bought a house on contract
Are the federal COVID-19 economic impact payments considered income for purposes of assessing eligibility or calculating rent reimbursement?
No. The COVID-19 economic impact payments authorized in section 2201 of the federal CARES Act will not be considered income for purposes of assessing eligibility or calculating rent reimbursement. The payment is considered a rebate or refundable credit, and should not be included on the Iowa Rent Reimbursement Claim.
What do I need to prove I can file?
Provide proof of all of your income. This includes your SSA-1099 form, social security income, child support, alimony, family investment program, children's social security income, welfare payments, rent assistance, and gambling winnings. If you get social security from more than one number, include all of the income from all numbers. Do not include food stamps. If you had no income, you must show us how you paid rent with no income.
To provide proof of disability, send a copy of your current Social Security award letter, current Veterans Administration award letter, or a letter from a doctor about your disability.
To provide proof of rent, send a copy of one of your lease, copies of rent receipts for every month, or a letter from the owner of the property. Include the Statement of Rent Paid (54-132) if you lived in more than one location.
Where can I get help?
The Iowa Department of Revenue will be closed for any walk in Rent Reimbursement Assistance in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Managing the safety of our employees as well as the residents of Iowa remains our top priority.
The Iowa Department of Revenue remains committed to providing the best customer service. Many resources are available to assist the residents of Iowa with filing their Rent Reimbursement Claim. For additional assistance call 515-281-3114 or 800-367-3388 for filing guidance.
If you don't live in the Des Moines area, other locations are available to assist you.
Can I email my claim?
What about my spouse?
If you got married last year, report both incomes for the whole year. Rent Reimbursement is for a household, so if you live together you need to claim both incomes.
If you got divorced last year, only report your income for the whole year.
How long does it take?
It takes an average of three months to process a claim.
What if I made a mistake?
We will send you a letter after we review your claim. Do not submit another claim, it will only slow down processing.
Why did I get a letter?
We might be reviewing your claim or need more information. Follow the instructions on the letter.
Are there any other rent assistance programs available?
The Iowa Rent and Utility Assistance Program available through Iowa Finance Authority's Iowa Housing Recovery, may provide eligible renters with help with rent and utility bills.