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Who needs to file and pay estimates: 
Every individual or married couple filing a joint Iowa 
return that expects to have a tax liability of $200 or 
more from income not subject to withholding. 

Each individual required to make estimated payments 
must file an estimated payment under his/her name 
and Social Security Number. 

Due dates: 
If any date falls on a weekend, federal holiday, or 
legal holiday as defined in Iowa Code section 4.1(34), 
substitute the next regular business day. 

For fiscal year filers, the dates for paying the 
estimated tax are the last day of the fourth, sixth, and 
ninth months of the fiscal year, and the last day of the 
first month of the next fiscal year. 

How to compute estimated taxes: 
Compute estimated tax by using one of the following 
methods: 

 Pay 5% of the anticipated Iowa gross income; or 

 Pay 100% of the prior year’s Iowa tax liability 
from IA 1040, line 53, less applicable credits; or 

 Pay 110% if prior year’s federal adjusted gross 
income plus any bonus depreciation 
adjustment/section 179 from IA 1040, line 14 
exceeded $150,000; or 

 Complete the traditional worksheet provided on 
page 2. 

Overpayment credit: 
If you had a refund on your 2015 Iowa income tax 
return and elected to apply it as a credit to your 
estimated tax, the amount is automatically posted as 
an estimated credit for 2016. Use the Estimated Tax 
Payment Schedule to record and apply the credit. If 
the credit equals or exceeds the first estimated 
payment, do not send an estimated voucher until a 
payment is due. 

Amending estimated tax: 
If your income changes during the year, adjust the 
estimated tax for the remaining quarters accordingly. 

Underpayment of estimated tax: 
A penalty for underpayment or estimated tax may 
apply if sufficient estimated payments are not 
submitted, regardless of the computation method used 
in calculating the estimated tax liability. Please see IA 
2210 form for penalty exceptions.

EXCEPTIONS: 

Nonresidents 
Iowa law provides that nonresidents whose income 
from Iowa sources is other than wages have the option 
of having Iowa income tax withheld or paying 
estimated income tax. If paying estimated tax is 
preferred, a release from withholding must be obtained 
prior to receipt of income. Complete the Nonresident 
Request for Release from Withholding form (44-017). 
To obtain this form, see the Department website 
(https://tax.iowa.gov). Submit the form with the tax 
payment and installment voucher to the Department at 
the address on the voucher. A release may then be 
furnished to the payer from the Department, based on 
the information provided. 

Farmers and Fishers 
If 2/3 or more of estimated gross income is from 
farming or commercial fishing, two additional options 
are available. 

 Pay the estimated tax in one payment on or 
before January 15, 2017, and file the Iowa 
income tax return by April 30, 2017; or 

 File the Iowa income tax return and pay the tax 
due in full on or before March 1, 2017. 

Those qualifying to make fewer than four estimated 
payments should use the installment voucher for the 
quarter from which the Iowa-source income was 
generated. 

Note: If any date falls on a weekend, federal holiday, 
or legal holiday as defined in Iowa Code section 
4.1(34), substitute the next regular business day. 

Low income exemption from tax: 

Taxpayers 65 years of age or older: You are exempt 
if: (1) You are single and your income is $24,000 or 
less, or (2) Your filing status is other than single and 
your combined income is $32,000 or less. 

Note: The amount of any pension exclusion or 
Reportable Social Security Benefits must be added 
back to income for purposes of determining the low 
income exemption. Only one spouse must be 65 or 
older to qualify for the exemption. 

Taxpayers under 65: You are exempt if: (1) Your 
income is less than $5,000 and you are claimed as a 
dependent on another person’s Iowa return, or (2) You 
are single and your income is $9,000 or less and you 
are not claimed as a dependent on another person’s 
Iowa return, or (3) Your filing status is other than 
single and your combined income is $13,500 or less.  
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If opting to use one of the methods other than the traditional worksheet, proceed to number 21 of the 
traditional worksheet under “Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation.” 

Traditional Worksheet - for taxpayer record ONLY 
1. Net income. Gross income minus adjustments.  

Report income for both spouses if filing a joint Iowa return ............................................1.  
2. Federal income tax paid less federal income tax refund ................................................2.  
3. Balance. Subtract line 2 from line 1 ...............................................................................3.  
4. Estimated deductions. Enter (a) total estimated itemized deductions or (b) standard  

deduction. Enter $1,970 single or $4,860 joint. ..............................................................4.  
5. Taxable income.  Subtract line 4 from line 3. If less than zero, you do not owe  

estimated income tax .....................................................................................................5.  
6. Compute income tax using 2016 Tax Rate Schedule below. .........................................6.  
7. Iowa lump-sum tax .........................................................................................................7.  
8. Iowa Alternative Minimum Tax .......................................................................................8.  
9. Total estimated tax liability. Add lines 6 through 8 .........................................................9.  

10. Total credits. Personal and dependent exemptions, tuition and textbook credit,  
firefighters/EMS and reserve peace officers. ............................................................... 10.  

11. Balance. Subtract line 10 from line 9.If you are a resident, please skip line 12. .......... 11.  
12. Nonresident. Enter amount of Iowa-source net income. .............................................. 12.  
13. Percentage of Iowa income vs. total income. Divide line 12 by line 1. Iowa residents  

enter 100%. .................................................................................................................. 13. % 
14. Estimated Iowa tax. Multiply line 11 by line 13 ............................................................. 14.  
15. Out-of-state tax credit and any other nonrefundable Iowa credits ................................ 15.  
16. Balance. Subtract line 15 from line 14 ......................................................................... 16.  
17. Iowa residents’ school district or emergency medical services surtax. ........................ 17.  
18. Balance. Add lines 16 and 17 ...................................................................................... 18.  
19. Total Iowa credits: withholding, child and dependent care or early childhood development, 

fuel tax, Iowa EITC, and any other refundable Iowa credits. ........................................ 19.  
20. Estimated tax. Subtract line 19 from line 18, rounded to the nearest dollar.  

Do not file estimated taxes if line 20 is less than $200. 
If line 20 exceeds $200, continue to line 21 directly below. ......................................... 20.  

Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation 
21. If the estimated tax exceeds $200, enter 100% (unless high income) of the prior year’s 

 tax liability, or 5% of this year’s anticipated Iowa gross income, or the amount from  
line 20 on the above worksheet. .................................................................................. 21.  

22. Multiply line 21 by 0.25. This is your quarterly estimated payment amount. Enter this amount  
into column A, lines 1 through 4, on the Estimated Tax Payment Schedule below. ..... 22.  

2016 Tax Rate Schedule 
Taxable income: 

Over 
But not 

over Tax Rate 
Of Excess 

Over 

0 1,554 0.00  plus 0.36% 0 

1,554 3,108 5.59  plus 0.72% 1,554 

3,108 6,216 16.78  plus 2.43% 3,108 

6,216 13,986 92.30  plus 4.50% 6,216 

13,986 23,310 441.95  plus 6.12% 13,986 

23,310 31,080 1,012.58  plus 6.48% 23,310 

31,080 46,620 1,516.08  plus 6.80% 31,080 

46,620 69,930 2,572.80  plus 7.92% 46,620 

69,930  4,418.95  plus 8.98% 69,930 

Estimated Tax Payment Schedule 

Date 

A 

Computed 

Installment 

B 

Refund 

Carryforward/ 

Prior Period 

Overpayment 

C 

Amount to be 

Paid (column A 

less column B) 

Installment 1 
04/30/2016 

   

Installment 2  

06/30/2016 
   

Installment 3  

09/30/2016 
   

Installment 4  

01/31/2017 
   

Example on how to compute estimated tax: The taxable income is $24,000. 
The calculation = $1,012.58 + [6.48% x ($24,000 - $23,310)]. 
The result = $1,012.58 + $44.71 = $1,057.29. Round to the nearest dollar = $1,057 


