
Allow 3 months for Processing Check on Refund: 1-800-572-3944 54-130a (08/18/14) 
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I declare under penalty of perjury that I have reviewed this claim and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. 

Sign   ( )

Here 
Your signature (or legal representative) Spouse Signature Date Daytime Phone

( ) 

Preparer’s Signature Phone 
Mail to: Rent Reimbursement, Iowa Department of Revenue 

PO Box 10459, Des Moines, IA 50306-0459 

Iowa Department of Revenue 

www.iowa.gov/tax 2014 Iowa Rent Reimbursement Claim 

for Elderly or Disabled  File on or before June 1, 2015 

Your Last Name Your First Name Your Social Security Number Your Birth Date 

Spouse’s Last Name Spouse’s First Name Spouse’s Social Security Number Spouse’s Birth Date 

Your Current Mailing Address (Street, Apt#, Lot#, Suite#) City, State, Zip 

Your Rental Address in 2014 (PO Box not allowed) City, State, Zip 
Street, Apt#, Lot#, Suite# 

1. Were you (or your spouse) born before 1950? .............................................................. Yes No 

2. Are you (or your spouse) totally disabled and born between 1950 and 1996? .............. Yes No 

(Include a copy of letter from Social Security Administration, Veterans Administration, your doctor, or Form SSA-1099.) 

Note: If you answered “no” to both questions 1 and 2, STOP.  You do not qualify. 

3. Did you live in Iowa during 2014? If “no,” STOP; no reimbursement allowed. .............. Yes No 

4. Do you currently live in Iowa? If “no,” STOP; no reimbursement allowed. .................... Yes No 

5. Were you in a nursing home or care facility during 2014? ............................................. Yes No 

If “yes”, name of nursing home or care facility: ______________________________________________________ 

Total Household Income (For You and Your Spouse) for entire year Use whole dollars only 

6. Wages, salaries, unemployment compensation, etc. ....................................... , .00 

7. HUD, Section 8, and any portion of rent or utilities paid for you. ..................... ,  .00 

8. Title 19 Benefits for housing only. .................................................................... ,  .00 

9. Social Security income (including SSI and Medicare premiums withheld). ..... ,  .00 

10. Disability income (include SSDI, VA, Railroad). (Include proof of disability). .. ,  .00 

11. All pensions and annuity income. Including retirement pay for military service. ......... , .00 

12. Interest and dividend income. ........................................................................... , .00 

13. Profit from business/farming/capital gain……………………………………….. , .00 

14. Cash or checks received from others. .............................................................. , .00 

15. Other Income (child support, alimony, FIP, children’s SSI, welfare payments, gambling, etc). , .00 

16. Total household income. Add amounts from lines 6 through 15. ............. ,  .00

Is Line 16 $22,011 or greater? If “yes” STOP: no rent reimbursement is allowed. If Line 16 is less than $22,011, continue to line 17. 

17. Time you rented, from , 2014 to , 2014. 

18. Total Iowa rent you paid in 2014. ...................................................................... ,  .00

19. Note: If the property you rent is exempt from property tax you are not eligible for reimbursement.

Landlord’s Name, address and phone number: _______________________________________________________ 

Include any other landlords’ names, addresses, and phone numbers for 2014 on a separate piece of paper.



54-130b (08/19/14) 

Reimbursement Amount – Optional to Complete 

Complete the worksheet below to compute an estimate of your rent reimbursement amount. If you 
would like the Department of Revenue to compute the rent reimbursement for you, leave this worksheet 
blank. 

a. Total household income from line 16 (front page) ................ $ , .00 

Is Line 16 (front page) $22,011 or greater? If “yes”, STOP: no reimbursement is allowed. 

b. Enter total rent you paid from line 18. .................................. $ , .00 

c. Allowable percentage. ......................................................... X .23 

d. Rent allowed for reimbursement. Multiply line b

by line c (cannot be more than $1,000) .......................................... $ , .00 

(example: if line b = 500, multiply 500 X.23 = 115) 

Note: If more than $1,000, enter $1,000 on line d. 

e. Select rate from table below based on income from line a above: X . 

$0.00 - $11,338.99 ....... enter 1.00 

$11,339 - $12,672.99 ....... enter 0.85 

$12,673 - $14,006.99 ....... enter 0.70 

$14,007 - $16,674.99 ....... enter 0.50 

$16,675 - $19,342.99 ....... enter 0.35 

$19,343 - $22,010.99 ....... enter 0.25 

$22,011 or greater......................STOP. No reimbursement allowed 

f. Estimated reimbursement. Multiply line d by line e.

(example: line d = 115, multiply 115 by .70 = 81 ............ $ , .00

This amount cannot be more than $1,000.00 

Who is Eligible?

 You lived in Iowa all or part of 2014, and live in Iowa now, and

 Your household income is less than $22,011, and

 The rental unit you lived in is subject to property tax, and

 You (or your spouse) were born before 1950, or

 You (or your spouse) were age 18 to 64 as of December 31, 2014, and totally disabled. Totally disabled
means you are unable to get a job paying more than $1,070 per month due to a physical or mental disability
which has lasted, or is expected to last for at least one year. Proof of disability must be included with your
claim.

Married couples living together are considered one household and can file only one claim, combining both 

incomes. If they do not live together, they may file separate claims. Other persons living together who qualify for a 

reimbursement may each file a claim based on their income and share of rent paid. 

If you lived in a nursing home or care facility, contact the administrator for the amount to enter on line 8, Title 19 

benefits. Or, enter 20% of benefits if living in a nursing home, or 40% if living in a care facility. 

Filing Reminders 

 Complete and sign rent reimbursement form

 With your claim, send proof of disability (copy statement from Social Security, VA, or your doctor)

Allow 3 Months for Processing 
Check on refund: 1-800-572-3944 

Note: The Iowa Department of Revenue may contact you for additional information. 
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