
Iowa Department of Revenue Annual Application for Iowa 
https://tax.iowa.gov Cigarette Permit/Tobacco Tax License 

70-015a (04/19/16)

July 1, 20  to June 30, 20 

Permit Number(s) __________________________________  

Legal Business Name (enter individual’s name, partnership or corporation) 

Doing Business As (if different than above) 

FEIN SSN 

Phone Fax 

Permit Contact 

Name 

Phone 

Email 

Report/Return Contact 

Name 

Phone 

Email 

Mailing Address of Business 

Street or PO Box 

City State ZIP County Number 

Location Address of Business 

Street or PO Box 

City State ZIP County Number 

Iowa Warehouse Location 

Street or PO Box 

City State ZIP County Number 

Application is made for: 
Check one of the appropriate types of license for which you are applying. Use a separate application if 
applying for multiple types – See page 3 for additional requirements. 

601/621 Cigarette Distributor (only) ............................... ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $2500.00 

606/626 Tobacco Distributor (only)................................ ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $1000.00 

602 Cigarette Manufacturer .................................... ☐ Fee: $0 Required Bond: $5000.00 

603 Cigarette Vendor (only) ................................... ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $1000.00 

604 Cigarette Wholesaler (only) ............................. ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $2500.00 

605 Tobacco Subjobber (only)................................ ☐ Fee: $10.00 Required Bond: $0 

607 Distributing Agent ............................................ ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $2500.00 

608 Railway Car Retailer ........................................ ☐ Fee: $25.00 Required Bond: $500.00 

601/621 and 606/626 (2 permits) 

Cigarette Distributor and Tobacco Distributor .. ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $3500.00 

604 and 605 (2 permits)  

Cigarette Wholesaler and Tobacco Subjobber ☐ Fee: $100.00 Required Bond: $2500.00 



Annual Application for Iowa Cigarette Permit/Tobacco Tax License, page 2 

70-015b (04/15/16)

Type of Ownership Individual ☐ Partnership ☐ Corporation ☐ LLC ☐ LLP ☐ 

List other Department of Revenue permit numbers currently in effect for this business 

Sales/Use Motor Fuel Withholding Other 

Identify partners or corporate officers 

Name  SSN 

Address 

City  State ZIP 

Title 

Name  SSN 

Address 

City  State ZIP 

Title 

Name  SSN 

Address 

City  State ZIP 

Title 

Number of duplicates needed at $5 each 
List the permit/license type and location for the duplicate(s) needed. 

Type: __________________________________ Location: ______________________________________ 

Cigarette permits and tobacco products licenses are regulated by chapters 453A and 421B of the Iowa 
Code. You must also comply with chapters 453C and 453D of the Iowa Code.  

All questions must be answered and a completed Iowa Cigarette/Tobacco Bond form 70-031 must be 
provided when this application is remitted with proper fees. 

Make check payable to Treasurer, State of Iowa. 

When you pay by check you authorize the Department of Revenue to convert your check to a one-time 
electronic banking transaction. 

If application is approved and permit granted, I/we do hereby bind ourselves to a faithful observance of the 
laws governing the sale of cigarettes and tobacco products. 

Signature Date 

Title Email 



Annual Application for Iowa Cigarette Permit/Tobacco Tax License, page 3 

70-015c (04/15/16)

New 601/621 and 606/626 cigarette and tobacco distributors must enclose letters from each manufacturer 
that intends to sell applicant unstamped cigarettes and untaxed other tobacco products. Provide all brands 
purchased from each manufacturer.  

Only approved brands of cigarettes or other tobacco products may be sold in Iowa – any brand not on the 
list is contraband. The list of approved brands is always current and available on the Department’s website. 
Any contraband or non-Iowa tax stamped package is subject to seizure and penalties under the provisions 
of the Iowa Code 453A and 453D. The following information must be provided. 

1. From whom will you purchase your cigarettes and other tobacco products? (Provide all names,
addresses, and type of products purchased from each. Use separate sheet if necessary.)

2. To approximately how many retailers will you sell?

3. How many of these retailers are directly affiliated with your organization? (Provide the names of any
retailers that are directly affiliated with your organizations.)

4. List names and addresses of your three biggest retailers.

5. Do you maintain a warehouse for wholesales sales of cigarettes? Yes ☐ No ☐ 

6. Will your permit number be printed on delivery vehicles? Yes ☐ No ☐ 

603 Cigarette Vendor Permit Only - applicants must answer the following questions: 
1. Number of cigarette vending machines in use?

2. From whom do you purchase your cigarettes or OTP?

3. Do you have your name and address on all of your vending machines? Yes ☐ No ☐ 

4. Is the company name and permit number on all vehicles used for transporting cigarettes?

Yes ☐ No ☐

5. Is the location of each machine covered by a local retail permit? Yes ☐ No ☐ 

6. List business name and location of each cigarette vending machine. (Provide separate list if necessary.)

7. Are the vending machines located in an area that is not accessible to anyone under the age of 18?

Yes ☐ No ☐

8. Are any nontobacco products sold out of these cigarette vending machines? Yes ☐ No ☐

Visit the Department’s website (https://tax.iowa.gov) to subscribe to the cigarette/tobacco elist (Listserv) by 
clicking on the “Subscribe to eMail News” link at the bottom of the page. 

Send this application, with Iowa form 70-031 – proof of bond and proper remittance to: 

Mailing Address: 
Iowa Department of Revenue 
Tax Management Division  
Compliance Services 
PO Box 10472 
Des Moines IA  50306-0472 

OR 
Delivery Address: 
Iowa Department of Revenue 
Hoover Bldg., Cigarette Tax 
1305 E Walnut 
Des Moines IA  50319 

Questions: 
Call 515-281-6134 or by email: IDRCigarette@iowa.gov 

https://tax.iowa.gov/

