
 
 

 

Pay Electronically 
Good for the environment. Good for you. 

online through eFile & Pay by Credit Card 
FREE direct debit (ePay) a fee is charged by the vendor 

www.iowa.gov/tax 

WHO needs to file and pay 

estimates - Every individual or 

married couple filing a joint Iowa 

return that expects to have a tax 

liability of $200 or more from 

income not subject to withholding. 

 

HOW to compute estimated taxes - Compute 
estimated tax by using one of the following 
methods:  
■ Pay 5% of the anticipated Iowa gross income, or  
■ Pay 100% of the prior year’s Iowa tax liability from 

IA 1040, line 51, less applicable credits, or  
■ Pay 110% if prior year’s federal adjusted gross 

income plus any bonus depreciation adjustment 
from line 14 of the IA 1040 exceeded $150,000, or  

■ Complete the traditional worksheet provided on 
page 2. 

WHEN it needs to be paid - The four 
due dates are preprinted on the 
installment coupons. For fiscal year 
filers, the dates for paying the 
estimated tax are the last day of the 
fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the 
fiscal year, and the last day of the first 
month of the next fiscal year. 

EXCEPTIONS: 
■ Nonresidents  

Iowa law provides that nonresidents whose income from Iowa sources is other than wages have the option of having Iowa income tax 
withheld or paying estimated income tax. If paying estimated tax is preferred, a release from withholding must be obtained prior to 
receipt of income. Complete the Nonresident Request For Release From Withholding form (44-017) and submit it with the tax 
payment and installment voucher to the Department at the address on the voucher. A release may then be furnished to the payer  
from the Department, based on the information provided. To obtain this form, see the Department’s website: www.iowa.gov/tax 

■ Farmers and Fishers  

If 2/3 or more of estimated gross income is from farming or commercial fishing, two additional options are available, other than 
making four estimated payments. 

Option 1 Option 2 
Pay the estimated tax in one payment on or 
before January 15, 2016, and file the Iowa income 
tax return by May 2, 2016, or 

File the Iowa income tax return and pay the tax due in full on or before March 1, 
2016. Those qualifying to make only one estimated payment under the 
“Exceptions” category should use the installment voucher from the quarter in 
which the Iowa-source income was generated. 

Overpayment credit: If you had a refund on your 

2014 Iowa income tax return and elected to apply 

it as a credit to your estimated tax, the amount is 

automatically posted as an estimated credit for 

2015. Use the Estimated Tax Payment Schedule 

to record and apply the credit. If the credit equals 

or exceeds the first estimated payment, do not 

send an estimated voucher until a payment is 

due. 

Credit: Estimated payments are credited to only one individual. Each 

individual required to make estimated payments must file an estimated 

payment under his/her name and Social Security Number. 

Underpayment of estimated tax: A penalty for underpayment of estimated 
tax may apply if sufficient estimated payments are not submitted, regardless 
of the computation method used in calculating the estimated tax liability.  
Please see IA 2210 form for penalty exceptions. 

Amending estimated tax: If your income 
changes during the year, adjust the estimated tax 
for the remaining quarters accordingly. 

Name/Address changes: Please contact Taxpayer Services at 1-800-367-

3388 or 515-281-3114. E-mail: idr@iowa.gov 

Low income exemption from tax 

Taxpayers 65 years of age or older: You are 

exempt if (1) You are single and your income is 

$24,000 or less, or (2) Your filing status is other 

than single and your combined income is $32,000 

or less. Note: The amount of any pension 

exclusion or Social Security Phase-out exclusion 

must be added back to income for purposes of 

determining the low- income exemption. Only one 

spouse must be 65 or older to qualify for the 

exemption. 

Taxpayers under 65: You are exempt if (1) Your income is less than 
$5,000 and you are claimed as a dependent on another person’s Iowa 
return; or (2) You are single and your income is $9,000 or less and you 
are not claimed as a dependent on another person’s Iowa return; or (3) 
Your filing status is other than single and your combined income is $13,500 
or less. 
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If opting to use one of the methods other than the traditional worksheet, proceed to number 21 
located below the traditional worksheet under “Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation.” 

Traditional Worksheet - for taxpayer record ONLY  

1. Net income. Gross income minus adjustments. 
Report income for both spouses if filing a joint Iowa return 1.  

2. Federal income tax paid less federal income tax refund 2.  

3. Balance. Subtract line 2 from line 1 3.  
4. Estimated deductions. Enter (a) total estimated itemized deductions or (b) standard deduction. 

Enter $1,950 single or $4,810 joint. 4.  
5. Taxable income.  Subtract line 4 from line 3.  If less than zero, you do not owe estimated  income 

tax 5.  

6. Compute income tax using 2015 Tax Rate Schedule below. 6.  
7. Iowa lump-sum tax 7.  

8. Iowa minimum tax 8.  
9. Total estimated tax liability. Add lines 6 through 8 9.  

10. Total credits. Personal and dependent exemptions, tuition and textbook credit, firefighters/EMS 
and reserve peace officers. 10.  

11. Balance. Subtract line 10 from line 9. 11.  
If you are a resident, please skip line 12.   

12. Nonresident. Enter amount of Iowa-source net income. 12.  
13. Percentage of Iowa income vs. total income. Divide line 12 by line 1. Iowa residents enter 100%. 13. % 
14. Estimated Iowa tax. Multiply line 11 by line 13 14.  
15. Total nonrefundable credits 15.  

16. Balance. Subtract line 15 from line 14 16.  
17. Iowa residents’ school district or emergency medical services surtax. 17.  

18. Balance. Add lines 16 and 17 18.  
19. Total Iowa credits: withholding, child and dependent care or early childhood development, 

motor fuel tax, out-of-state tax, Iowa EITC, and other refundable credits . 19.  

20. Estimated tax. Subtract line 19 from line 18, rounded to the nearest dollar. Do not file estimated 
taxes if line 20 is less than $200. If line 20 exceeds $200, continue to line 21 directly below. 20.  

Quarterly Estimated Tax Computation   
21. If the estimated tax exceeds $200.00, enter 100% (unless high income) of the prior year’s tax 

liability, or 5% of this year’s anticipated Iowa gross income, or the amount from line 20 on the 
above worksheet. 21.  

22. Multiply line 21 by 0.25. This is your quarterly estimated payment amount. Enter this amount 
into column A, lines 1 through 4, on the Estimated Tax Payment Schedule below. 22.  

 

2015 Tax Rate Schedule Estimated Tax Payment Schedule 
Taxable Income 

Tax Rate 
Of Excess 

Over Date 

A 
 

Computed 
Installment 

B 
Refund Carryforward 

/ Prior Period 
Overpayment 

C 
Amount to be paid 

(column A less 
column B) 

But 
Over Not Over 

$0  $1,539  $0.00 + (0.36% x $0) 

$1,539  $3,078  $5.54  + (0.72% x $1,539) 

$3,078  $6,156  $16.62  + (2.43% x $3,078)  

$6,156  $13,851  $91.42  + (4.50% x $6,156)  

$13,851  $23,085  $437.70  + (6.12% x $13,851)  

$23,085  $30,780  $1,002.82  + (6.48% x $23,085)  

$30,780  $46,170  $1,501.46  + (6.80% x $30,780)  

$46,170  $69,255  $2,547.98  + (7.92% x $46,170)  

$69,255  ------ $4,376.31  + (8.98% x $69,255)  
 

1. 04/30/2015    

2. 06/30/2015    

3. 09/30/2015    

4. 02/01/2016    

Example on how to computer estimated tax: The taxable income is $24,000. 
The calculation = $1,002.82 + [6.48% x ($24,000 - $23,085)]. 

The result = $1,002.82 + $59.29 = $1,062.11. Round to the nearest dollar = $1,062 
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