Iowa law includes an economic nexus threshold. Remote sellers must collect Iowa sales tax only if the remote seller has $100,000 or more in gross revenue from Iowa sales.
Sellers that make Iowa sales on a marketplace, such as a consignment store, auction, or online marketplace should see the Department's marketplace facilitators guidance. Sellers that only sell products on a marketplace may not need to collect and remit Iowa sales tax.
How is the Economic Nexus Threshold Computed?
The economic nexus threshold is based on gross revenue from sales into Iowa. This means all revenue from Iowa sales, including but not limited to exempt sales, wholesale sales, sales for resale, and sales for which a marketplace facilitator collected sales tax.
When does a remote seller need to start collecting sales tax?
A remote seller that did not exceed the sales threshold for the prior year is not required to collect sales tax in the current year. However, if the remote seller exceeds the sales threshold in the current year, the remote seller must collect Iowa sales tax and applicable local option sales tax starting on the first day of the next calendar month that starts at least 30 days from the day the remote seller first exceeded the sales threshold. The remote seller must collect tax through the end of the calendar year in which the sales threshold was met or exceeded as well as the entire next calendar year.
EXAMPLE: Company S, a remote seller, did not exceed the sales threshold in 2022. On September 15, 2023, S exceeds the sales threshold for the first time. S must register to collect Iowa sales tax and must begin collecting Iowa sales tax and applicable local option sales tax on November 1, 2023. S must continue to collect through at least December 31, 2024. S’s sales volume in 2024 and later years will determine whether S must collect Iowa sales tax and applicable local option sales tax after December 31, 2024.