License Sanction for Debt Collection
Professional license at risk if debt not paid
What are license sanctions?
If an individual owes at least $1,000 in debt being collected by the Central Collections Unit (CCU) of the Iowa Department of Revenue, the CCU can request that the professional license of the individual be…
- Denied issuance
- Denied renewal
A person whose license has been suspended or revoked is prohibited from practicing in the state of Iowa. In addition, hunting and fishing licenses may also be denied.
What type of debt is collected by the Central Collections Unit?
- Delinquent court fines
- Unpaid taxes
- Debt owed to the Department of Natural Resources
How can I avoid having my license sanctioned?
Contact the Central Collections Unit at 866-339-7912 and request to:
- Pay your account in full or
- Make payment arrangements to repay your debt
What licenses can be sanctioned?
Below is a sample of license types. It includes licenses required to practice a profession and hunting and fishing licenses. This list is not complete.
- Accountants (CPAs and LPAs)
- Farm chemical applicators
- Fishing licenses
- Hunting licenses
- Massage therapists
- Medical doctors
- Security guards
Which licensing authorities participate in license sanctions?
Licensing authorities include the following:
- Iowa Department of Commerce
- Iowa Board of Educational Examiners
- Iowa Department of Inspections and Appeals
- Iowa Department of Natural Resources
- Iowa Department of Public Health
- Iowa Department of Public Safety
- Iowa Supreme Court – Professional Regulation
- Iowa Department of Transportation
- Iowa Workforce Development
- Iowa Board of Medicine
- Iowa Dental Board
- Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine
How does the license sanction process work?
- The Central Collections Unit (CCU) notifies the licensee by mail about the debt. The licensee is given 20 days to respond and establish a repayment agreement.
- If a licensee fails to respond, set up a repayment schedule, or comply with a repayment agreement, the CCU sends a Certificate of Non Compliance to the appropriate licensing authority.
- The licensing authority notifies the licensee that the license will be suspended or revoked. The licensee has 30 days to pay the debt or make arrangements with the CCU to pay the debt in installments.
- If the licensing authority does not receive word from the CCU that the debt has been resolved, it suspends or revokes the licensee’s license. If a license is already on suspension, the license is revoked.
How does a license get reinstated?
- The licensee must pay the debt or enter into an installment payment agreement with the Central Collections Unit (CCU) to remove the grounds for suspension or revocation.
- If a licensee enters into an installment agreement, but breaks that agreement, they must pay the liability in full in order to have the license reinstated.
- The CCU sends a Withdrawal of Certificate of Non Compliance to the licensing authority if the debt is paid or if the licensee enters into an installment payment agreement.
Are payment plans allowed?
Payment plans are allowed if licensees can prove they don’t have the ability to pay the debt in full. Plans must be approved by the Central Collections Unit (CCU). The terms of the payment agreement will be based on each licensee’s specific financial situation. The payment plans must be in writing using the form provided by the CCU.
Can a licensee request a conference?
A licensee may request a telephone conference with the Central Collections Unit (CCU). The request must be made in writing within 20 days of the mailing date of the letter. The request form will be attached to the notice that is sent to the licensee.
The CCU will notify the licensee of the date and time of the conference by regular mail. If the licensee fails to appear by telephone for the conference, the CCU will issue a Certificate of Non Compliance.
The CCU will not issue a Certificate of Non Compliance if:
- The unit finds a mistake in the identity of the person.
- The unit finds a mistake in determining the amount of the liability.
- The unit determines the amount of the liability is not greater than $1,000.
- The licensee enters into an acceptable payment plan.
What rights does a licensee have?
If a licensee believes a Certificate of Non Compliance was issued in error, the licensee can file a petition in district court.
The licensee must:
- File a petition in district court within 30 days after the licensing authority issues the notice of intent to suspend or revoke the license. This will stop the suspension or revocation until the case is concluded.
- Send a copy of the petition to the licensing authority.
The only issues the court will consider are whether the debtor has been correctly identified and whether the amount of the debt is accurate.
Is licensee information confidential?
Information shared by licensing authorities with the Central Collections Unit is confidential. It will be used only for the purposes of collecting debt under the license sanction law.
Code - reference the Iowa Legislative Website for current and historic version of the Iowa Code.
272D.2 Purpose and use
272D.3 Notice to person of potential sanction of license
272D.5 Written Agreement
272D.6 Decision of the unit
272D.7 Certificate of noncompliance - certification to licensing authority
272D.8 Requirements and procedures of licensing authority
272D.9 District court hearing