Iowa Department of Revenue Extends Iowa Business Tax Return Deadline for Flood Disaster Areas

Friday - 05/10/2019

In response to Governor Reynolds’ recent disaster declarations for five additional Iowa counties -- Clinton, Decatur, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, and Wapello -- the Iowa Department of Revenue has granted an extension and suspension of any penalty or interest for taxpayers whose principal residence or business is located in these counties. For people affected, this means if the original or extended due date for the payment or return is on or after April 1, 2019 but before May 31, 2019, the extended deadline is June 30, 2019. This includes all tax types except property taxes or other taxes administered by county or local governments.

State law authorizes Iowa Department of Revenue Director Kraig Paulsen to extend the period of time for filing tax returns and making associated payments. This includes the suspension of any penalty or interest associated with those returns or payments.

In addition, Louisa and Scott Counties have been added to the list of Iowa counties that receives extended tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service and the Department. The Department has created a flood resource page that includes Common Questions.

Updated 5/24/19 to include Decatur County.

Contact Email