Update to Iowa Minimum Age Requirement

Wednesday - 07/01/2020

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds signed Senate File 2268 into law on June 29, 2020 that raises the minimum age for a person to purchase, use, or sell tobacco, tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, vapor products, and cigarettes in Iowa from 18 to 21 years old. The new minimum age requirement takes effect immediately.

This law change is in response to a change in federal law from December of 2019 which raised the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products from 18 to 21 years old.

Contact Email